Sports Medicine

The purpose of the Sports Medicine Interest Group is to educate residents about the field of Sports Medicine. The group hosts a quarterly lecture series with various topics exploring musculoskeletal injuries and their management. The group promotes attendance at sports medicine conferences including American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) Annual Meeting and American Medical Society for Sports Medicine (AMSSM) Annual Meeting. The group also promotes attendance at the ACSM Team Physician Courses. The group promotes additional sports medicine learning opportunities within the residency program.

President | Hunter Dawkins | edward.dawkins.5@us.af.mil
Co-Vice President | Steven Trigg | steven.trigg.3@us.af.mil
Co-Vice President | David Riegleman | david.riegleman.1@us.af.mil

General Officer | Stephanie Fulleborn | stephanie.fulleborn@us.af.mil
General Officer | Sarah Carroll | sarah.carroll.4@us.af.mil
General Officer | Edward Schmitt | edward.schmitt.2@us.af.mil
General Officer | Andrew Jurovcik | andrew.jurovcik.1@us.af.mil
General Officer | Anne Marie Kennedy | anne_marie.kennedy.1@us.af.mil

Clinical Support Chief | Patrick Burns | patrick.burns.18@us.af.mil

Faculty Advisor | Dr. Christopher Ledford MD
Faculty Advisor | Dr. Sabrina Silver DO

Events:

  • Quarterly Lecture Series
  • Andrews Institute Sports Physical Day, Andrews Institute, Gulf Breeze, FL | June 10, 2017
  • Basics of Musculoskeletal Ultrasound, The Knee | June 28-29, 2017

Past Faculty Advisors:

  • Dr. Sean Martin DO | April 2015 – August 2015

Past Officers:

  • Alexander Nguyen | Co-President | April 2015 – January 2017
  • Alexander Knobloch | Co-President | April 2015 – January 2017
  • Erin Reddis | Vice President | August 2015 – June 2016
  • Elizabeth Albright | Vice President | June 2016 – September 2016

Past Events:

  • Quarterly Lecture Series
    • Endurance Event Coverage | Steven Trigg, May 12, 2017
    • Foot and Ankle Injuries | Alexander Nguyen, March 15, 2017
    • Endurance Event Coverage | Steven Trigg, October 26, 2016
    • Musculoskeletal Ultrasound Physics | Elizabeth Albright, June 14, 2016
    • Hand and Wrist, Alexander Nguyen, March 16, 2016
    • Endurance Event Coverage, Alexander Nguyen, December 10, 2015
    • Sports Dermatology, Alexander Knobloch, September 8, 2015
    • The Back: Common Spinal Pathology, Alexander Nguyen, June 10, 2015
    • Minimalist Running Guide, Alexander Knobloch, April 15, 2015
  • Niceville High School Football | Fall 2016
  • Niceville High School Football | Fall 2015
  • Ironman Gulf Coast 70.3 Medical Tent, Panama City Beach | May 13, 2017
  • Ironman Florida, Panama City Beach, FL | November 5, 2016
  • Ironman Florida, Panama City Beach, FL | November 7, 2015
  • Ironman Florida, Panama City Beach, FL | November 1, 2014
  • Adaptive Sports Camp (Warrior Games) 2017, Eglin AFB, FL | April 24-28, 2017
  • Adaptive Sports Camp (Warrior Games) 2016, Eglin AFB, FL | April 4-8, 2016
  • Adaptive Sports Camp (Warrior Games) 2015, Eglin AFB, FL | April 13-22, 2015
  • Basics of Musculoskeletal Ultrasound, The Knee | June 14-16, 2016
  • Basics of Musculoskeletal Ultrasound, The Knee | June 17-18, 2015
  • Andrews Institute Sports Physical Day, Andrews Institute, Gulf Breeze, FL | June 11, 2016
  • Andrews Institute Sports Physical Day, Andrews Institute, Gulf Breeze, FL | June 13, 2015
  • 2nd Annual Barbeque/Volleyball Tournament at Okaloosa Island Boardwalk | August 13, 2016
  • 1st Annual Barbeque/Volleyball Tournament at Okaloosa Island Boardwalk | August 15, 2015

Facebook